Gallery Wall

Those familiar with the blog Young House Love are likely familiar with their amazing (and oft-pinned) gallery wall.

I’ve loved the idea of a gallery wall ever since I first saw it on YHL, and after stumbling across a major frame sale at Home Outfitters (I didn’t pay more than $4 for a single frame, and they’re nice frames!) I decided it was time to make my own!

As we live in a fairly small apartment (it’s a good size for an apartment, but small compared to a house), I decided to do a fairly small gallery wall over our futon/couch in the living room, rather than taking over an entire wall like they did on YHL. I was a bit daunted at first by the idea of using newspaper to mark where each frame would go (see the tutorial over on YHL, linked above), as I’m a lefty and I hate cutting things – but once I realized that I only actually had 3 different sizes of frames, I also realized that that meant I could simply stack a bunch of newspaper and cut a bunch at once. All in all, it only took me about 10 minutes to cut all the newspaper I needed to size and mark the nail spot.

Here’s a photo play-by-play of the gallery wall construction. For detailed instructions on the actual technique of using newspaper to mark out frames – check out the link about to YHL (no point in reinventing the wheel here!):

Assembling the frames and choosing pictures:

2013-07-23 18.45.30

Figuring out a rough layout:

2013-07-23 18.45.34

2013-07-23 18.45.23

Using the newspaper to transfer the layout to the wall and make sure I like it:

2013-07-23 19.47.43

Adding the frames:

2013-07-23 20.04.03

The finished product!

2013-08-16 17.48.46

I’m really happy with how it turned out. It adds some nice colour to the room, fills the wall nicely (we have very high ceilings, so this can be a challenge), and has a nice mix of art we like and items with sentimental value.

Here’s a close up on a few items I included:

2013-08-16 17.49.07

2013-08-16 17.49.12

2013-08-16 17.49.02

2013-08-16 17.49.31

One thought on “Gallery Wall

Leave a Reply

