Sole and Shrimp Red Thai Curry

When Rach isn’t around I like to explore food groups I enjoy but Rach doesn’t. Yesterday she was assisting with a wedding photo shoot so I decided to whip up something she wouldn’t eat. Which means copious amounts of seafood!

Last weekend I helped a couple move and they generously fed me delicious Thai food. I figured it wouldn’t be hard to make this with seafood. In this case, shrimp and sole. My attempt below:

Ingredients

Garlic
Ginger
Spring onion
Shallots
Cumin seeds
Coriander
Cardamom pods (3)
Star anise (1-2)
Fish sauce
Red thai paste
Tomato paste (1/2 can)
Coconut milk (1/2 can)
Dried chilis
Juice from one lime
Fresh cilantro
Fresh basil
Brown sugar
Sole (1/2 pound)
Shrimp (10, deveined and peeled)
Yellow cherry tomatoes
Green beans

Directions

Dice up garlic, ginger, green onions, shallots.

Grind star anise, coriander, and the cardamom pods in a mortar and pestle.

The fresh ingredients

Heat some olive oil in a pan.

Add the garlic, ginger, cumin seeds, spring onions and shallots to the pan. When appropriately cooked, add fish sauce and the star anise/cardamom pod/coriander mix (I removed the husks and took out any large chunks of star anise I couldn’t be bothered to grind some more).

Add in the red thai paste and mix with the previous ingredients. Also add in the yellow cherry tomatoes, whole but with the tops cut off.

Add the sole (whole) and quickly cook on each side. Add the tomato paste at the same time.

Once the sole is lightly cooked on each side pour in the coconut milk and stir in with the pastes.

Add the dry chilis. In reality I’d rather have used fresh green chilis but I wasn’t going to drive to the next town to go get some…

Mix in the juice of a whole lime.

Continue cooking on a medium/medium-high temperature.

Start steaming the green beans. I used this satellite-inspired steamer.

I meant to cut them in half and remove the stems...Ooops.

Steam for 2 or 3 minutes so they won’t be overdone. While they are steaming add the cilantro, basil and maybe a teaspoon or so of brown sugar to the curry.

Cook until the shrimp is mostly done and add those beans. After a few more minutes of cooking, serve on a bed of rice and garnish with cilantro.

The final product.

There were a couple of things I might do differently next time: Sole is a very flakey fish and pretty much disintegrated, so it might be advisable to go with a sturdier white fish. The same with the yellow tomatoes – I think if I make it again I’d add them later to the recipe as they disappeared after the recipe turned red.

It tasted fantastic and made enough for two.

5 thoughts on “Sole and Shrimp Red Thai Curry

Leave a Reply

